GA Point System       

 

Georgia's Driver's License Point System

  • Aggressive driving (A conviction of aggressive driving by a person under 21 years of age will result in a suspension of the driver's license.)
6 points
  • Reckless driving
4 points
  • Unlawful passing of school bus
6 points
  • Improper passing on a hill or a curve
4 points
  • Exceeding the speed limit by more than 14 miles per hour but less than 19 miles per hour
2 points
  • Exceeding the speed limit by more than 19 miles per hour but less than 24 miles per hour
3 points
  • Exceeding the speed limit by more than 24 miles per hour but less than 34 miles per hour
4 points
  • Exceeding the speed limit by more than 34 miles per hour or more
6 points
  • Disobedience of any traffic- control device or traffic officer
3 points
  • Too fast for conditions
0 points
  • Possessing an open container of an alcoholic beverage
2 points
  • Failure to adequately secure a load, except fresh farm produce, resulting in loss of such load onto the roadway which results in an accident
2 points
  • All other moving traffic violations which are not speed limit violations
3 points
  • Violation of child safety restraint requirements, first offense
1 points
  • Violation of child safety restraint requirements, second and subsequent offenses
2 points
  • HOV lane violation - 4th and subsequent offense.
1 point
Mandatory Suspension

The State shall suspend a license for a conviction of any of the following offenses in Georgia or any other state:

  1. Homicide by vehicle.
  2. A conviction for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
  3. Any felony in the commission of which a motor vehicle is used.
  4. Using a motor vehicle in fleeing or attempting to elude an officer.
  5. Fraudulent or fictitious use of, or application for a license.
  6. Hit and run or leaving the scene of an accident.
  7. Racing.
  8. If you refuse to take a chemical test for intoxication, then your license will be suspended for 12 months.
  9. Operating a motor vehicle with a revoked, canceled, or suspended registration in violation of Code Section 40-6-15.
  10. Conviction for driving without insurance is a 60/90-day suspension.
  11. If convicted for driving while license is suspended, revoked or canceled, your driver's license will be further suspended for six months.
  12. If you fail to appear in court or respond to a citation, your license may be suspended indefinitely.
  13. Your driver's license will be suspended if you are convicted of possession, distribution, manufacture, cultivation, sale or transfer of a controlled substance or marijuana.
  14. The State is authorized to suspend your license if its records or other evidence shows that you have accumulated 15 points within 24 months under the point system, including violations committed out of state.