THE TEENAGE AND ADULT DRIVER RESPONSIBILITY ACT (TADRA)
TADRA is a graduated driverís license program established for young drivers ages 15 to 18 in Georgia by a collaborative effort of highway safety advocates, legislators, law enforcement officials educators, businesses and media in the wake of a high number of fatal vehicle crashes involving young, inexperience drivers.
THREE STEP PROCESS IN TADRA
TADRA involves an intense, three-step educational process that allows the young driver to gain more experience behind the wheel:
1) STEP ONE Ė INSTRUCTIONAL PERMIT is granted to 15-year-olds upon successfully passing of a written examination. The driver with this permit must be accompanied by a passenger who is at least 21 years old and possess a valid Class C driverís license at all times while driving.
2) STEP TWO Ė INTERMEDIATE LICENSE (Class D) The license is granted to drivers between 16 and 18 years of age who have held an Instructional Permit of 12 months and passed a driving test. The Intermediate License has the following restrictions:
On or after January 1, 2002, anyone obtains an initial Class D license must have completed:
a) An approved driver education course and, in addition, a cumulative total of at least 20 hours of supervised driving (six hours a night), OR
b) A cumulative total of at least 40 hours of supervised driving (six hours a night).
** These requirements also apply to an applicant for an initial Class C drivers license who has not previously been issued a Class D license.
3) STEP THREE Ė A FULL LICENSE (Class C) driverís license is granted to drivers ages 18 years of age and older who hold the class D license and have incurred no major traffic convictions during the previous 12 months. The following violations must not occur during this period:
** Drivers under the age of 18 years in a 12-month license suspension period must not incur a violation point count over four points
** Georgia has a zero tolerance for underage drunk driving. Convicted drivers with a blood-alcohol content level of .08 grams or higher will face a 12-month license suspension on the first offense.